A+ A-

Structure of the Ministry

The MSET currently has sixteen (16) portfolio agencies, nine (9) internal divisions , and two (2) external units/divisions, namely the Government Energy Inspectorate (GEI), Post and Telecommunications Department (PTD).

The internal divisions are located at the MSET’s head office, while the external entities, which are the largest divisions, are located outside the ministry’s head office.


The Political Directorate comprising the Office of the Minister: This office is responsible for setting government policies, which is transmitted through the Permanent Secretary.

  1. The Permanent Secretary’s Office (PSO):

    The function of this office is to implement Government of Jamaica (GOJ) policies transmitted through the Minister, Cabinet, Parliament and other responsible organs of the state.


  3. Policy, Planning, Development and Evaluation Division (PPDED):

    The PPDED provides policy, planning, development and evaluation direction, oversight and support for the Ministry’s three major portfolios.

    It is responsible for the preparation of the Ministry’s Strategic and Operational Plans, preparing Cabinet Submissions and other Cabinet-related documents, coordinating the preparation of the Ministry’s annual sectoral presentations, and monitoring and evaluating the performance of the Ministry and its agencies.


  5. Energy Division (ED):

    The division has an overall mandate to pursue the roll out of the National Energy Policy 2009-2030, including the development of a modernized legislative framework for the energy sector.


  7. Information and Communication Technology Division (ICTD):

    This division exercises immediate responsibility for the policy direction of the Ministry’s information, communication and technology (ICT) portfolio.


  9. Finance and Accounts:

    The division directs the Ministry’s budgetary process, manages its budgetary allocation, and ensures that the Ministry conforms to the requirements of the Financial Audit and Administration Act (FAA Act).


  11. Internal Audit (IA):

    This division ensures that the Ministry and its agencies are in compliance with the Financial Audit and Administration Act (FAA Act), whereby conducting various types and levels of audits to ensure efficiency and accountability.


  13. Human Resource Management and Administration (HRMA):

    This division is responsible for the management and development of the Ministry’s human resources as well as the administration of the entire Ministry. The areas of responsibility include Personnel, Training, Industrial Relations, Office Management, Registry and Library Services.


  15. Communications and Public Relations Unit (CPRU):

    This unit develops, coordinates and manages the Ministry’s Communication Programme and is responsible for disseminating information to the various publics that interface with the Ministry. The unit is also tasked with coordinating information requirements and outputs of the Ministry.


  17. Legal Unit (LU):

    This entity prepares and monitors legislation to give effect to the policies of the ministry and its agencies, and to assist in providing guidance on legal matters.


  19. Technology Unit (TD) :

    This unit is responsible for meeting the ICT needs of the ministry in carrying out its daily information and communication functions including software, programming, email, web page design and updating of the ministry’s web site. It is also responsible for the maintenance and monitoring of the information technology system.



  1. Government Energy Inspectorate:

    This entity’s current mandate is to ensure that electrical installations in the country are safe and effected consistent with the Jamaica Standards Regulations in accordance with the Electricity Lighting Act.

    The GEI’s organizational structure, mandate and mode of operation are slated to change within the 2015-2016 fiscal year consequent on it being transformed to be the Government Electrical Regulator. This is in line with the ongoing transformation of the public service and specific attempts to improve the development process and compress the amount of time it takes for installations to be energised.


  3. Post and Telecommunications Department (PTD):

    Headed by the Postmaster General and the largest entity within the ministry, this entity’s mandate is to provide efficient and cost effective postal and related services to its customers. It operates through a head office and a network of post offices and postal agencies that offer a full range of postal services, including the acceptance and delivery of mail and the sale of postage stamps. It is also a major conduit through which the GOJ channels pensions to pensioners.